It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Library Materials for the Academy of Games & Media: Games
This Library Guide presents a selection of additions to the Library collection for Games & Media. This includes some of the latest acquisitions of (e-)books, video games, board games, links to the latest editions of key journals, and the latest developments in Library resources and services.
For additional information and suggestions for improvement please contact our Games & Media information specialist Linda Hurkmans
NEW BOOKS & EBOOKS
The Game Production Toolbox by Heather Maxwell ChandlerThe Game Production Toolbox focuses on the nuts and bolts of producing interactive content and how you can organize and support the creative, technical, and business efforts that are all part of interactive game development. This book isn't going to tell you how to design a game or what technologies to use. Instead it provides techniques for and insights into managing, from concept to release, all the pieces that must come together in order to get a game into the hands of a player. Readers will learn about each phase of game production: prototyping, defining the requirements, assembling the team, making the game, and releasing to the players. Interviews from professional game developers give a behind-the-scenes look at what it takes to make a game. Key Features A framework for how to get an interactive game from concept to release, including information on financing and pitching to publishers and investors. Techniques for working with the game development team to get effective prototypes and documentation to prove out game concept and mechanics. Concrete information on how to plan and execute the different aspects of game production, such as audio, localization, testing, and software ratings. Advice from industry experts on managing teams, project management, communicating effectively, and keeping everyone happy. Information about working effectively with marketing, PR, and other people that are involved with the publishing and release process.
Call Number: 659.342 LIB 266
Publication Date: 2020-05-14
Elements of Game Design by Robert ZubekThis textbook by a well-known game designer introduces the basics of game design, covering tools and techniques used by practitioners in commercial game production. It presents a model for analyzing game design in terms of three interconnected levels-mechanics and systems, gameplay, and player experience-and explains how novice game designers can use these three levels as a framework to guide their design process. The text is notable for emphasizing models and vocabulary used in industry practice and focusing on the design of games as dynamic systems of gameplay. The book first introduces the core model and framework for analyzing and designing games. It then discusses the three levels in detail, explaining player experience and identifying design goals; introducing low-level structural analysis of gameplay in terms of basic mechanics; describing how mechanics build up into systems; and presenting concepts for understanding gameplay, defined as the dynamic behavior of players when they interact with mechanics and systems. Finally, the book offers students advice on creating game prototypes using an iterative, user-centered process. Each chapter offers a set of exercises for individuals and design challenges for groups.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020-08-18
Beginning C++20 by Ivor Horton; Peter Van WeertBegin your programming journey with C++ , starting with the basics and progressing through step-by-step examples that will help you become a proficient C++ programmer. This book includes new features from the C++20 standard such as modules, concepts, ranges, and the spaceship operator. All you need are Beginning C++20 and any recent C++ compiler and you'll soon be writing real C++ programs. There is no assumption of prior programming knowledge. All language concepts that are explained in the book are illustrated with working program examples, and all chapters include exercises for you to test and practice your knowledge. Free source code downloads are provided for all examples from the text and solutions to the exercises. This latest edition has been fully updated to the latest version of the language, C++20, and to all conventions and best practices of modern C++. Beginning C++20 also introduces the elements of the C++ Standard Library that provide essential support for the C++20 language. What You Will Learn Begin programming with the C++20 standard Carry out modular programming in C++ Work with arrays and loops, pointers and references, strings, and more Write your own functions, types, and operators Discover the essentials of object-oriented programming Use overloading, inheritance, virtual functions, and polymorphism Write generic function and class templates, and make them safer using concepts Learn the ins and outs of containers, algorithms, and ranges Use auto type declarations, exceptions, move semantics, lambda expressions, and much more Who This Book Is For Programmers new to C++ and those who may be looking for a refresh primer on C++ in general.
Call Number: 659.35 LIB 72
Publication Date: 2020-10-04
The Art of Game Design by Jesse SchellPresents over 100 sets of questions, or different lenses, for viewing a game's design. Written by one of the world's top game designers, this book describes the deepest and most fundamental principles of game design, demonstrating how tactics used in board, card, and athletic games also work in video games. It provides practical instruction on creating world-class games that will be played again and again. New to this edition: many great examples from new VR and AR platforms as well as examples from modern games such as Uncharted 4 and The Last of Us, Free to Play games, hybrid games, transformational games, and more.
Call Number: 659.342 LIB 268
Publication Date: 2019-08-27
Games User Research by Anders Drachen (Editor); Pejman Mirza-Babaei (Editor); Lennart Nacke (Editor)Games live and die commercially on the player experience. Games User Research is collectively the way we optimise the quality of the user experience (UX) in games, working with all aspects of a game from the mechanics and interface, visuals and art, interaction and progression, making sure every element works in concert and supports the game UX. This means that Games User Research is essential and integral to the production of games and to shape the experience of players. Today, Games User Research stands as the primary pathway to understanding players and how to design, build, and launch games that provide the right game UX. Until now, the knowledge in Games User Research and Game UX has been fragmented and there were no comprehensive, authoritative resources available. This book bridges the current gap of knowledge in Games User Research, building the go-to resource for everyone working with players and games or other interactive entertainment products. It is accessible to those new to Games User Research, while being deeply comprehensive and insightful for even hardened veterans of the game industry. In this book, dozens of veterans share their wisdom and best practices on how to plan user research, obtain the actionable insights from users, conduct user-centred testing, which methods to use when, how platforms influence user research practices, and much, much more.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-03-25
The Digital Matte Painting Handbook by David B. MattinglyThe only how-to guide dedicated to mastering the technique of digital matte painting! Matte painting affords seamless integration between an artist's painting with live action film footage and allows for greater flexibility and creative input in the appearance of movie settings. This unique book reveals a variety of tools and techniques that are both industry and classroom tested and will enhance your existing skill set. Veteran author and instructor David Mattingly walks you through the process of creating a matte painting, starting with rough concept sketches, working out the perspective drawing, adding light and shadow, and texturing all of the elements in the painting. You'll gradually upgrade to using Adobe After Effects and Autodesk Maya in order to fulfill your matte painting vision. Escorts you through the process of creating a matte painting, starting with the initial concept sketch, adding light and shadow, texturing elements, and incorporating motion and depth Author is an experienced matte artist and teacher and shares a plethora of unique industry- and classroom-tested tools and techniques Features helpful step-by-step instructions accompanied by screen shots and photos to illustrate the process of creating a matte painting Whether you're creating a background for a studio production, independent film, TV commercial, or YouTube video, The Digital Matte Painting Handbook helps you successfully complete your project. Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
Call Number: 659.34 LIB 558
Publication Date: 2011-04-12
Augmented Reality and Virtual Reality by Timothy Jung (Editor); M. Claudia tom Dieck (Editor); Philipp A. Rauschnabel (Editor)This book features the latest research in the area of immersive technologies, presented at the 5th International Augmented and Virtual Reality Conference, held in Munich, Germany in 2019. Bridging the gap between academia and industry, it presents the state of the art in augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR) technologies and their applications in various industries such as marketing, education, healthcare, tourism, events, fashion, entertainment, retail and the gaming industry. The volume is a collection of research papers by prominent AR and VR scholars from around the globe. Covering the most significant topics in the field of augmented and virtual reality and providing the latest findings, it is of interest to academics and practitioners alike.
Looking for trends & data in the field of gaming? Try the Statista database!
You can access Statista via this direct link or via www.buas.nl/library > Games >databases.
Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals and provides you with a research tool to access data from national and international market research institutes. In the database you will find statistics and reports from over 600 categories from over 18,000 sources, including:
Coronavirus : impact on the gaming industry worldwide by StatistaSUMMARY: "This dossier provides some of the most recent data relating to the impact of the ongoing coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic on the global sports industry. The pandemic, which originated in the Chinese city of Wuhan, has now infected people across the globe, with many countries advising or, in some cases, ordering its citizens to stay at home to stem the spread of the virus. With more people having to turn to video games and the internet as a source of entertainment at home, the video game and eSports industry is one of the few sectors to have experienced a boom as a result of the crisis. This dossier provides insight into the potential economic impact of the coronavirus on the video game market, as well as insights into the rise of the eSports industry. Media overview, sales, user behaviour, Twich, eSports "
Publication Date: 2020
eSports and (online) gaming in Belgium, Luxemburg and the Netherlands by StatistaBenelux; online games; video games; eSports; mobile gaming; The Netherlands; Belgium; Luxembourg
SUMMARY: This dossier presents facts and statistics about video gaming, online games and eSports in Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. The dossier focuses onIndustry overview, user demegraphics, the sales volume of video games, the devices used to play digital games and short chapters on eSports and gaming streams. It also includes a chapter on the popularity of Fortnite in Belgium and the Netherlands. "
Publication Date: 2020
Are you interestes in adding video tutorials to your (oline) education? All BUas staaf & students have access to Linkedin Learning. Linkedin Learning is an online learning platform, featuring thousands of video tutorials by industry experts. It includes online courses on a wide range of topics, including software, technology and game development: