This Library Guide presents a selection of additions to the Library collection for Games, Media & Data Science & AI. This includes some of the latest acquisitions of (e-)books, video games, board games, links to the latest editions of key journals, and the latest developments in Library resources and services.
For additional information and suggestions for improvement please contact our Games, Media & Data Science & AI information specialist Linda Hurkmans
The Influencer Industry by
A critical history of the social media influencer's rise to global prominence Before there were Instagram likes, Twitter hashtags, or TikTok trends, there were bloggers who seemed to have the passion and authenticity that traditional media lacked. The Influencer Industry tells the story of how early digital creators scrambling for work amid the Great Recession gave rise to the multibillion-dollar industry that has fundamentally reshaped culture, the flow of information, and the way we relate to ourselves and each other. Drawing on dozens of in-depth interviews with leading social media influencers, brand executives, marketers, talent managers, trend forecasters, and others, Emily Hund shows how early industry participants focused on creating and monetizing digital personal brands as a means of exerting control over their professional destinies in a time of acute economic uncertainty. Over time, their activities coalesced into an industry whose impact has reached far beyond the dreams of its progenitors--and beyond their control. Hund illustrates how the methods they developed for creating, monetizing, and marketing social media content have permeated our lives and untangles the unforeseen cultural and economic costs. The Influencer Industry reveals how, in an increasingly fractured and profit-driven communications environment, the people we think of as "real" are merely those who have learned to exploit the industry's ever-shifting constructions of authenticity.
Handbook of Research on Transmedia Storytelling, Audience Engagement, and Business Strategies by
As media evolves with technological improvement, communication changes alongside it. In particular, storytelling and narrative structure have adapted to the new digital landscape, allowing creators to weave immersive and enticing experiences that captivate viewers. These experiences have great potential in marketing and advertising, but the medium's methods are so young that their potential and effectiveness is not yet fully understood. Handbook of Research on Transmedia Storytelling, Audience Engagement, and Business Strategies is a collection of innovative research that explores transmedia storytelling and digital marketing strategies in relation to audience engagement. Highlighting a wide range of topics including promotion strategies, business models, and prosumers and influencers, this book is ideally designed for digital creators, advertisers, marketers, consumer analysts, media professionals, entrepreneurs, managers, executives, researchers, academicians, and students.
Film Directing: Shot by Shot - 25th Anniversary Edition by
Shot by Shot is the world's go-to directing book, now newly updated for a special 25th Anniversary edition! The first edition sold over 250,000 copies, making it one of the bestselling books on film di-recting of all time. Aspiring directors, cinematographers, editors, and producers, many of whom are now working professionals, learned the craft of visual storytelling from Shot by Shot, the most com-plete source for preplanning the look of a movie.The book contains over 800 photos and illustrations, and is by far the most comprehensive look at shot design in print, containing storyboards from movies such as Citizen Kane, Blade Runner, Dead-pool, and Moonrise Kingdom. Also introduced is the concept of A, I, and L patterns as a way to sim-plify the hundreds of staging choices facing a director in every scene.Shot by Shot uniquely blends story analysis with compositional strategies, citing examples then il-lustrated with the storyboards used for the actual films. Throughout the book, various visual ap-proaches to short scenes are shown, exposing the directing processes of our most celebrated au-teurs -- including a meticulous, lavishly illustrated analysis of Steven Spielberg's scene design for Empire of the Sun.
The Stanley Kubrick Archives by
In 1968, when Stanley Kubrick was asked to comment on the metaphysical significance of 2001: A Space Odyssey, he replied: "It's not a message I ever intended to convey in words. 2001 is a nonverbal experience... I tried to create a visual experience, one that directly penetrates the subconscious with an emotional and philosophic content." Now available as part of our Bibliotheca Universalis series, The Stanley Kubrick Archives borrows from the director's philosophy. From the opening Sequence of Killer's Kiss to the final frames of Eyes Wide Shut, it allows the masterful visuals of Kubrick's films to impress through a Sequence of compelling, mesmerizing stills. We uncover Kubrick's creative process through fascinating archival material, including set designs, sketches, correspondence, documents, screenplays, drafts, notes, and shooting schedules. Accompanying the visual and archival material are essays by noted Kubrick scholars, articles written by and about Kubrick, and a selection of Kubrick's best interviews. The result is a visual, archival, and scholarly journey through masterworks of 20th-century cinema and the meticulous mind of the director behind them. About the series Bibliotheca Universalis -- Compact cultural companions celebrating the eclectic TASCHEN universe!
Breaking into UK Film and TV Drama by
Breaking Into UK Film and TV Drama, written by industry insider Matt Gallagher (founder of crewing website thecallsheet.co.uk) is a comprehensive guide for new entrants to the UK's creative industries, offering in-depth advice and practical tips on how to break into the business and build a sustainable career. The book also includes unique contributions and advice from leading organisations such as AMPAS, BAFTA, Creative Skillset, Film London and WFTV, as well from Oscar and BAFTA-winning talent including Amma Asante (director, A United Kingdom), Steven Hall (VFX DoP, Star Wars: The Force Awakens) and Rebecca O'Brien (Producer, I, Daniel Blake). Adrian Wootton, Chief Executive of the British Film Commission,says: "A refreshingly honest, remarkably comprehensive view of the challenges, opportunities, and obstacles faced by those entering the UK film industry. Backed up by well-researched facts, historical analysis and real insight from an array of talented professionals it is a valuable guide to this wonderful business." Lizzie Evans, runner (Holby City, Spectre), says: "The ultimate secret weapon for anyone aspiring to work in drama. Packed full of facts and information and with interesting insights from industry pros, this book will equip you with all the knowledge you need to kickstart your career (and give you tips on how to get ahead once you're in)." A comprehensive guide to finding work in UK Film and TV Drama for new entrants and graduates. Includes information on... How to find work in the Film and TV Drama industry How Prep, Production, and Post really works Understanding the paperwork Guide to the UK job market and production companies How to write a brilliant CV and cover letter Advice on networking, finding jobs & building a career Plus.... 10+ interviews with experienced Oscar and Bafta-winning crew 50 'pearls of wisdom' from the best in the business (more below) 100+ job titles and departments explained 200+ Film and TV terms explained in our glossary 250+ useful links and resources Insight from the people who worked on Gravity to Game of Thrones, This is England to Downton Abbey, Sherlock to Bond. You will find this book packed with authoritative insider knowledge from some of the very best in the business Includes exclusive comments and career advice from: Lord David Puttnam, Producer, Chariots of Fire Carola Ash, Director of AMPAS (The Oscars) Europe Amanda Berry OBE, Chief Executive, BAFTA Alison Small, Chief Executive, The Production Guild Dinah Caine CBE, CEO, Creative Skillset Amma Asante, Director, Belle Roy Button, Executive Vice President, Warner Bros. Productions Jacqui Taunton-Fenton, Head of BBC Drama Talent Jed Mercurio, Writer/Director, Line of Duty Debbie Vertue, Head of Production, Hartswood Films, Sherlock John Yorke Head of Company Pictures Rebecca O'Brien, Producer, Sixteen Films, I, Daniel Blake Gillian Berrie, Producer, Sigma Films, Under the Skin Sarah Greenwood, Production Designer, Beauty and the Beast Neil Corbould, Special Effects Supervisor Saving Private Ryan Nigel Heath, Hackenbacker Studios, Downton Abbey Nicky Ball, Creative England Crew & Facilities Manager Vicki Allen & Tamana Bleasedale, Calltime Company David Worley, Camera Operator, Game of Thrones, Indiana Jones Andy Lowe, Gaffer, Paddington Flora Moody, Make Up & Hair Artist, The Avengers: Age of Ultron James Cox, Stunt performer, Star Wars: The Force Awakens Mark Sanger, Editor, Gravity
The Insider's Guide to Factual Filmmaking by
The Insiders' Guide to Factual Film-Making　is an accessible and comprehensive 'how to' guide about the craft of making documentaries for TV, online or social media. Film-maker Tony Stark distils a long career at the BBC and as an independent producer to explain the conceptual, visual, editorial and organisational skills needed to make impactful and stylish factual films. Interviews with top industry professionals in the UK and US - commissioners, executive producers, film-makers, strand editors and media lawyers - add valuable insight and authority to this book.　For more experienced film-makers The Insiders' Guide tells you how to get the green light for undercover investigations, how to tell film stories online and on social media, and how to budget a factual film. This is a key text　for anyone who wants to succeed in the rapidly changing, competitive freelance markets in Britain and America. It provides expert guidance to students on film-making courses, journalists wanting to move from print to video and non-professionals with an interest in film-making. Whatever the final destination of your film - and whatever the budget - The Insiders' Guide provides　a vital roadmap. The book's accompanying website is a 'show-me' resource for new directors: with 24 specially-shot film clips illustrating the key rules of filmic grammar and SKEuence shooting - together with downloadable versions of essential production forms.　
Statista
Looking for trends & data in the field of media? Try the Statista database!
You can access Staista via this direct link or via www.buas.nl/library > Media >databases.
Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals and provides you with a research tool to access data from national and international market research institutes. In the database you will find statistics and reports from over 600 categories from over 18,000 sources, including:
Linkedin Learning
Are you interestes in adding video tutorials to your (oline) education? All BUas staaf & students have access to Linkedin Learning. Linkedin Learning is an online learning platform, featuring thousands of video tutorials by industry experts. It includes online courses on a wide range of topics, including media, film production, documentary filmmaking and more:
Hidden Förstfödd by
Nothing is quite what it seems in 'Hidden', where dark secrets, unsuspected identities and supernatural forces converge against the captivating backdrop of modern day Stockholm.
Sthlm requiem by
Based on Kristina Ohlsson's novels, the series follows unconventional but cunning criminologist Fredrika Bergman who joins a special investigations unit in Stockholm.
Below the surface by
Copenhagen, 15 innocent people are held hostage underground in a subway train.
