You can choose to use different kinds of resources. On this Library guide page you can find an overview of resources that you could use. All these resources are also accessible via the Library website.
Please note: resources can differ in reliability and usability: make sure to use several, different resources and always check their reliability.
| Resources | Reliability |
| Books | Avarage to good (depending on the author(s)) |
| Reports | Avarage to good (depending on the author(s) and or organization(s)) |
| Journal articles from trade publications | Avarage to good (depending on the author(s) and or organization(s)) |
| Journal articles from academic journals | Good (these articles will most likely be peerreviewed) |
| Statistics | Bad to good (very depended on the resource...CBS Statline & Statista are very good) |
| News articles/newspaper articles | Bad to good (very depended on the resource...national (Dutch) newspapers have a better reputation for reliability then online newsresources) |
Books and reports can be easily be found in the Library catalogue.
This a search engine that will allow you to see which (paper) books the Library has in its collection.
eBooks can be found in the following ways:
BUas theses collection
In the Library catalogue you can also find placement reports and theses reports written by BUas students.
BUas library only adds reports that are graded a 7 or higher.
Use the following keywords in the catalogue:
Use " theses" or "placement reports" via authority search for other academies, such as tourism, leisure or build environment.
This database offers access to theses from 26 Dutch Universities of applied sciences. For theses made by BUas students please use the BUas catalogue.
In this tutorial we explain how to find relevant databases from the BUas collection.
A full list with available journals for HM and FM can be found here.
Academic articles are articles that are considered high quality articles, because they have been checked on reliability by peers of the researcher, before the article is published. Academic articles can be easily found via:
Or via one of these databases (also made accessible to you via the library website):
Trade publications can also offer you interesting articles. Their quality and reliability might be lower then academic articles, but they are usually written by people who know their specific trade very well. These kind of articles can be used as examples of real life experiences or as reference materials for new projects and developments.
Some trade publications are not online available but are only available in paper: these journals can be borrowed via the Library. You can check availability of the journals in the Library catalogue.
Some industry publications, such as FSIN publications, are available via one of the teachers. Please check the Library catalogue for that as well.
Google scholar is similar to the BUas Metasearch tool: both tools can be used to find a lot of resources with one search assignment.
The Metasearch engine gives you access to articles and publications in databases. Google Scholar will give you access to a lot of publications that have not been published in databases. By using both search engines you will therefore have a good overview of what has been published on your topic.
Google Scholar via Library website. After log in on BUAS network you will be recognized as BUAS student or employee and get optimal access to publications BUAS has payed for. Or use this link instead. When no full text button from a publisher is available use the FIND@BUAS button to check whether the library has access to an article.
If your search terms do not render a lot of results in the Metasearch and not in Google Scholar then we recommend adjusting your search terms.
When a journal article is not available in the (online) library you can make a request for a copy of the article (also in pdf by mail), just contact the Library.
For top tips on journal titles per community, please take a look here.
News sources can be useful because they contain very recent information and they can be used to get insight in to what customers think.
News sources can be found via the database Nexis Uni.
Nexis Uni is an online archive for news sources. It gives access to articles from a wide range of newspapers, such as De Volkskrant, NRC Handelsblad, The New York Times. It covers local, national and international newspapers and magazines.
It includes general news, popular magazines, trade magazines, legal journals, and many others.
Nexis Uni also has many sources for company information, such as financial information, annual reports. This part is accessible via Nexis Uni Company Dashboard.
There are two tutorials available for students: in Dutch and in English. It will take about 45 min. to learn the basic functions of this valuable database.
There is an extensive Libguide available on finding information on companies, industries and countries. Check for how to find a company profile, industry report or country specific information the Libguide about marketing resources.
This Libguide also explains how to use statistical databases such as Statline or Statista.
