Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Skills: Workshops / Webinars: .

Library Workshops

BUas Library offers instructions, workshops and e-learning courses in the field of information skills for both staff and students. Below you will find an overview of available instructions, workshops, and webinars. 

 

Webinars on request

The Library also offers webinars on other subjects, for instance on working with a specific library database or finding statistical information. Faculty can request Library webinars for their courses. For students we have the possibility to request a Library webinar for their groupwork. 


Would you like to request a webinar on another date or on another topic? Please fill in this form

.

Advanced Information Skills
 


Content
Do you need to find academic resources for research purposes? During this online Library webinar, you will learn how to apply advanced search techniques, and which resources to use to find the information you need.

 


 

Target Groups
Third-Year Students, Fourth-Year Students, Master Students, Researchers

Language
English

Upcoming Webinars

Date Register

Thursday October 6 2022, 12:00-13:00 hrs

Thursday October 13 2022, 19:30-20:30 hrs

Register here

Register here

.

Citing & Referencing Sources Using APA 7th ed.

A picture containing transport, wheelDescription automatically generated


Content

Need some help citing and referencing sources using APA? Join this webinar to improve your referencing skills and learn how to:

  • distinguish between different types of sources to ensure you refer to them correctly
  • use APA citation style to cite different types of sources (books, articles, podcasts, websites, video’s etc.)
  • create a reference list and in-text citations using the APA citation style
  • refer to sources easily via reference managers (EndNote, Zotero, Mendeley etc.) and tools in library database

Please feel free to bring along questions regarding your own references. 

Target Groups
Students

Language
English

Upcoming Webinars

Date Register

Monday October 10 2022, 19.30-20.30 hrs

Register here

 

.

Exploring Library Databases

Content
What is a (Library) database? How can you use databases to find relevant information for your study assignments and/or research? BUas Library has a large collection of subscription databases with a variety of information resources, such as newspapers, company info, statistics, magazines, and academic journals. During this workshop we will explore these databases and show you how to search them efficiently for relevant information. 

Target Groups
Students and staff

Language
English

Upcoming Webinars
 

Date Register

Monday 3 October 2022, 19.30-20.30 hrs

Register here

 

.

Citing & Referencing Sources Using Harvard

A picture containing transport, wheelDescription automatically generated


Content
Need some help citing and referencing sources using Harvard? Join this webinar to improve your referencing skills and learn how to:

  • distinguish between different types of sources to ensure you refer to them correctly
  • use Harvard citation style to cite different types of sources (books, articles, podcasts, websites, video’s etc.)
  • create a reference list and in-text citations using the Harvard citation style
  • refer to sources easily via reference managers (EndNote, Zotero, Mendeley etc.) and tools in library database

Please feel free to bring along questions regarding your own references. 

Target Groups
Students

Language
English

Upcoming Webinars

Date Register

Thursday October 6 2022, 19:30-20:30 hrs

Thursday October 13 2022, 12:00-13:00 hrs

Register here

Register here

.

Search Smarter

with Google & Google Scholar

 

 


Con
tent
Become a 'Google Pro' and join our online webinar! With a subject of your choice, we will explore Google and Google Scholar and give you useful tips & tricks, enabling you to quickly find relevant information via these search engines. 





Target Groups

Staff & Students

Language
English

Upcoming Webinars

Date Register

Wednesday October 5 2022. 19.30-20.30 hrs

Register here

.

Managing Your References with EndNote
‚Äč

Content
Citing sources in a correct way is an important research skill, but managing al your references can be a tedious job. This workshop explains how you can use the referencing software Endnote to help you manage all your references. It also focuses on how Endnote can help you make correct citations in your publications. Of course, time to practice with Endnote will be included.


Target Groups

Staff & Students

Language
English

Upcoming Webinars






Date Register

Wednesday October 12 2022, 19.30-21.00 hrs

Register here

E-learning: Toolbox Information Literacy

 

Toolbox Information Literacy (e-learning)
The Library has developed a ‘Toolbox Information Literacy’, which offers a variety of tools to teach students information literacy skills.
The toolbox is based on a 6-step model. Each step of the information literary process is described and contains tools, such as knowledge clips and quizzes. All tools focus on developing information skills, including:

  •  formulating search questions

  •  collecting the right search terms

  •  selecting relevant resources

  •  search methods

  •  assessing/evaluating information

  •  using & presenting  information correctly (APA etc.)

You can find the Toolbox via this link: https://buas.libguides.com/toolboxENG