This Library guide leads you through the process of searching for images on the open web, databases and other sources.
1. Familiarize with your topic
Image search requires some knowledge about the topic. Sometimes images on the web are mislabeled .
For example if you use Google image search for finding images of the 'London Bridge': searching for "London Bridge" will return mostly images of the Tower Bridge, which is the most iconic bridge in London, but not actually London Bridge. So if you don't have any knowledge about the topic you have a greater change of finding the wrong images/information.
Image databases of institutions have better labeling/ metadata and provide more reliable results. On the second tab of this libraryguide is an overview of databases with image collections of institutions and organizations.
2. Keywords.
Searching for images on the internet needs a different approach than searching for publications such as books and articles.
When looking for a specific image you can search for title or creator, however most of the images on the internet are described on accompanying text.
In the box on the right of this page are some tips to search (for images) with keywords ----------->
3. Use databases with image collections
There are a lot of good (open) databases with image collections. The images in these databases have a better description (metadata) compared to images on the internet. So with these databases you will probably get better results when searching on subject/ keywords.
Most of these images in databases are not available via Google image search.
On the second page/tab of this library guide is a selection of image databases which are free to use.
By creating a list of keywords, you will be able to do better and more efficient searches. If you create a list of keywords keep in mind to also use broader terms, narrower terms, related terms etc. (see table)
| Broader terms | "game development" BT: "game industry" |
| Narrower terms | "computer games" NT: "serious games" , NT: "casual games" |
| Related terms | "serious games" RT: "educational games" , RT: simulation |
| Singular and plural forms | "computer game" / "computer games" |
| Synonyms | "computer games" / "video games" |
| Foreign language spellings | colour (UK) vs. color (US) |
| Adding extensions to narrow the search (when searching for images) |
For Example: Diagram; schematic; SKEtch; concept art; photo etc. |
If you know which keywords you are going to use, you can make combinations with keywords by using Boolean-operators:
| Boolean operator | Example | Effect |
| AND | "game industry" AND Netherlands | Both terms must appear --> narrows your search |
| OR | "computer games" OR "video games" | Either term may appear --> Broadens your search |
| NOT | "video games" AND teenagers NOT children | Exclude term(s) --> narrows your search |
| "......" | "serious games" | Search as one term --> narrows your search |
| * / ? / # (truncation) |
game* --> games, gaming, gamers Colo?r --> color, colour |
Broadens your search to include various word endings and spellings |
When looking for specific images, search engines (surface web) like Google are not the best starting point in every case. In some cases it is better to use databases that specializes in the subject. Authoritive sources have collections with images which cannot be found with search engines (Google). These sources are part of the deep web. Besides the unique collections of these databases, these resources have metadata created by specialist which makes searching more accurate.
On the second page/tab of this Library Guide is an overview of sources/databases with image collections.
