LibGuides: Qgis 2.18 English: Sources

Frequently used websites

The Netherlands

These three websites contain all sorts of open data (free data) made available by Dutch authorities. You can search for and get hold of all kinds of files via these websites.

Website showing all kinds of soil data of the Netherlands.

www.bisnederland.nl

Website with all provincial geodata.

www.provinciaalgeoregister.nl

Europe

Eurostat GISCO European administrative boundaries, ports and airports, urbanization, and land cover.

Austria

Geoland.at : Viewable data with links to provincial geospatial data sources.
Open Data Wien : Open data resources, some of which are geospatial, for Vienna. In German.

Belgium

Brussels UrbiS : Aerial photographs, parcels, and topographic data for the Brussels Capital Region.
AGIV : Data for Flanders region.

Denmark

Geodata-info : National metadata catalog. In Danish.

Finland

National Land Survey of Finland : Some topographic data freely available as TIFF, shapefile, GML, or MIF.
Paikkatietoikkuna: National metadata catalog.
data.suomi.fi : Links to open data resources, some of which are geospatial. In Finnish.

France

Geoportail: National spatial data portal; datasets in catalog are not necessarily for free download, consult list of freely available data. In French.
IGN Donnee : Data available for educational purposes from France's national geographic institute.
data.gouv.fr : France's open data initiative, with some geographic data. In French.
ParisData : Open data portal for Paris.
CRAIG Geocat : Catalog of spatial data for Auvergne. In French.
GeoBretagne : Shapefiles and maps from Brittany, downloadable from Catalog. In French.

Germany

OffeneDaten : Open data catalog for all of Germany, contains some spatial data. In German.
Berlin Open Data : Search for "shapefile, "Gis," or "geodaten." In German.

Great Britain

GoGeo: Search for datasets from multiple agencies or browse directory of data providers.
OS Open Data : From the Ordnance Survey, the national mapping agency. Includes OS VectorMap™ District (mid-scale buildings, roads, railways), OS Street View® (simplified street level map), and Boundary-Line™ (electoral and administrative boundaries), among others.
Office of National Statistics Census Geography Datasets : Shapefiles of 2001 and 2011 census boundaries for England and Wales.
Scottish SDI Metadata Catalogue
British Geological Survey Open Geoscience
Environment Agency Open Data
London Datastore : Index of open data resources from the Greater London Authority.

Ireland

Fingal Open Data : Some data in KML format.
Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources Spatial Data: Some free geologic shapefiles.

Italy

dati.gov.it : National open data catalog, with some geospatial resources. In Italian.
Geoportale della Lombardia : GIS data from the Lombardy region, in shapefile, AutoCAD, and MapInfo formats. In Italian.
Sardegna Geoportale : Data catalog of downloadable shapefiles and images from Sardinia.
Instituto Geografico Militare : Italy's national mapping agency.
SITR Lazio : Spatial data from Lazio region. In Italian.

Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland Environment Agency : Water, natural and built heritage, in shapefile and GML formats.
Spatial NI

Norway

ge oNorge : National metadata catalog, with some downloadable data.
FactPages: From the Norwegian Petroleum Directorate, licenses, wellbores, pipelines and seismic information in shapefile formate; see Geographical datasets to download.

Portugal

SNIG :National portal to geospatial data, some of it downloadable. In Portuguese.
IDEiA : Some free downloadable data for the Azores. In Portuguese.

Spain

Center for National Geographic Information : Some free downloadable data.
IDEE Metadata Catalog : Search across spatial data from multiple Spanish agencies, some of which is downloadable.
datos.gob.es : National catalog of open government data, some of it spatial.
Open Data Euskadi : From Basque Country.
OpenDataBCN : Barcelona's City Hall open data service.
Open Data gencat : From Catalonia.

Switzerland

Swiss Geoportal : Spatial data catalog.
Swisstopo : Boundaries and other basemap data, in shapefile and other formats.
E NVIROCAT : Swiss environmental data.

Frequently used files

CBS districts and neighbourhoods: file with all base data per municipality, district and neighbourhood in the Netherlands.

TOP10vector/ TOP10nl: Top10 Roadfile of The Netherlands’ Cadastre, Land Registry and Mapping Agency that can be used as a topographical map.

BAG: database of The Netherlands’ Cadastre, Land Registry and Mapping Agency containing all addresses and buildings and their various data.

AHN: The Data & ICT Service of Rijkswaterstaat (Directorate-General for Public Works and Water Management) (formerly known as Advisory Service for Geo Information and ICT) has made available the heights of the soil of the entire Netherlands in the form of the AHN and derived products.

National Roads Database (NWB) (including railroads and waterways)

The National Roads Database-Roads is a digital geographical database of almost all roads in the Netherlands with a total length of some 125,000 kilometres. It includes all roads that are managed by the Government, provinces, municipalities and water boards in as far as they have been provided with a street name or number.