EndNote 2025

Would you like to find out how you can manage your references and how to easily refer to sources? Check out this Libguide about the reference manager EndNote. It shows you how to install and use EndNote and provides you with relevant background information.

EndNote is a reference manager, bibliographic software that can be used to manage bibliographies and references when writing essays, articles and theses.

Why use EndNote? EndNote allows you to:

• create a personal library with references and resources aimed at your own lectures and/or research topic
• import citations from Google Scholar & library databases
• organise references into groups
• add article's pdf to the references
• repeatedly refer to the same sources
• easily refer to your resources according a certain style
• automatically reformat citation styles
• automatically insert citations into Word documents

In this LibGuide you will learn how to get started with EndNote, create an EndNote library, add references, organize your library and insert references into your document.

EndNote 2025 includes new features, including:

• updated Summary panel
• updated options list in the Reference panel
• updated edit panel in the Reference panel
• styles can now show en dashes (–) or hyphens (-) between numbers for page and date ranges
• the Research Assistant, a new artificial intelligence (AI) feature in EndNote and EndNote Web; it uses AI to analyze the contents of the journal article from its PDF and provides a short summary of the key points in the article
• the Find a Journal feature has been added to Cite While You Write (CWYW) for online applications, replacing the former Manuscript Matcher. It can be found in Cite While You Write for Word Online (see The EndNote Menu Button in Word Online) and Cite While You Write for Google Docs
• quicker quotations with matching citations from PDFs (see Inserting Quotations from PDFs).

EndNote gives you the capability to import references from online databases and store them in your personal EndNote libraries. Some producers of online reference databases expressly prohibit such use and storage of their data; others charge an extra fee for a license to use the data in this way. Before you download references from a database, be sure to check the copyright and fair use notices for the database. Note that different databases from the same provider may have varying restrictions.

Questions about EndNote?
Please contact our Library via email.