Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citations, APA and bibliography: Referencing and APA

English Libguide about citing, APA and bibliography

Plagiarism

Avoid being excused of plagiarism. All reports you hand in will be checked on plagiarism !!

Read about plagiarism

Avoid plagiarism and cite in the correct manner! 

Read about referencing 

Cite and APA

There're several ways of making a reference list:

  1. Making the APA description yourself
  2. Copy/paste from Google Scholar, Metasearch and other databases
  3. Make the APA description in Word
  4. Use reference softwate link Endnote, Mendeley etc.

For the manual of Tilburg University :

APA Citing Sources Guideline (English)

APA Richtlijnen bronvermelding (Dutch)

Pennstate University APA website with examples : APA quick citation style (English)

 

Handy trick in Metasearch and Google Scholar

When using Metasearch, Business Source Complete or Hospitality and Tourism Complete at record level you can choose "Cite" in the left menu.

Here you can copy an APA description and paste it in Word. Be sure to use to correct paste icon in Word to keep the right format (e.g italic)

In Google Scholar use the quotations mark " below the description.

PS. Always check the description, because it's made automatically and there can errors in the description!!

 

 

 

Referencing for dummies

Endnote - bibliographic software tool

The library has a licence for EndNote software for all its employees and students. EndNote is a bibliographic software tool which helps you build, maintain and use a personal database with bibliographic data. You can simply add and manage data of important publications. The integration of EndNote with Word enables you to enter citations and reference lists in your text while writing. There are more than 500 layout options to choose from. References can be added and removed afterwards without any problem

Information on installing Endnote

APA Style Referencing

Referencing (APA) & Bibliographies via Microsoft Word

This video is a basic introduction to the References tab in Word 2010 and using APA 6th style. Topics covered: Selecting the style, Insert Citation, Manage sources, Bibliography

How to use APA references and Works Cited (Bibliography) functions in Word 2010

Why cite and reference list?

  • Give credit somebody else's ideas
  • Information should be tracable ( eg by your teacher or other interested persons)
  • Your material should be reliable
  • By cting correctly you will protect yourself of being accused of plagiarism, which will lead to rejection of your paper/thesis