It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Library materials for the Academy for Hotel & Facility: May - June '22
This Library Guide presents a selection of additions to our Library collection for Hotel and Facility Management. This includes some of the latest acquisitions of (e-)books, links to the latest editions of key journals, and the latest developments in Library facilities, resources, and services.
You will find e-books via our Catalogue (add your specific search term, and select item type "Online resources" ) and also via Metasearch (limit your search results with Source Type: e-Books). You can use these 'How-to' guidelines to access and download e-books from our EBSCO e-books collection. For additional support, please contact your AHF librarian Maaike van Berlo or our Library Information Desk.
Statista is a statistics portal that provides access to statistics and studies on over 80,000 topics and areas of interest. Benefits of Statista services include: Industry-specific economic macro data with key indicators of market trends Industry-specific surveys on relevant trends and forecasts Consumer behavior studies. Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
QUESTIONS? ASK YOUR AHF LIBRARIAN
Would you like to have a publication included in the library collection? That is possible. For questions concerning the AHF library collection. Please contact me.
Maaike van Berlo
Available on: Monday morning, Tuesday, Thursday morning and Friday.
Your Library is still alive & kicking, attuned to the BUas COVID-19 protocol! Please check out our latest Library news, including the accessibility of our facilities and collection, and our (online) services and tools specifically designed for a blended learning environment.
Are you curious about publications, presentations, or consultancy work by our colleagues at AHF or BUas-wide? An up-to-date overview of all knowledge output of our employees can be found in the PURE web portal. For additional information on registration and submission of your own knowledge output please consult the Library's PURE page
For questions and support please contact the Library's PURE team: firstname.lastname@example.org.
LinkedIn Learning video database
We offer access to Linkedin Learning, an online video database with over 16,000 online expert-led courses on a wide variety of topics, available both for free and with a subscription. The videos can be used for group instructions or for personal self-study purposes. And they can be a great addition to your blended learning curriculum. For more information on the use of LinkedIn Learning please check out this manual.
NEXIS UNI: newspaper & company info database
Lexis Uni is a multilingual database with online full-text archives of news publications from all over the world. These include national and regional Dutch newspapers and major international news publications that can be downloaded, printed or sent by email.
Lexis Uni Company Dossier offers, amongst others, information on a multitude of Dutch and international companies, US industries, and business executives. It contains reports about brands, financial data, SWOT analyses, company activities and more. These concise tutorials will start you in the right direction.
BUas Copyright Information Point
Do you want to use publications by others like articles, book chapters, pictures, and recordings as teaching materials in Teams or CumLaude? Wondering how to act ethically when they are subject to copyright protection? Do you want to know who owns the copyrights of materials that you have created within the framework of your job or during work hours? Or are you curious what your position is when discussing copyrights of your (open access) publication or product with publishers?
BUas Copyright Information Point (CIP) is there to inform you! It offers information and advice on copyright issues to students and employees of BUas. Check out the information on the Library homepage or contact the CIP directly: email@example.com.
Referencing at AHF
True, referencing is not rocket science. But how easy do you make a mistake because you overlook a missing dot or bracket, get confused by deviant examples, or overlook mistakes by your reference manager program. In addition, unlike APA, there is no definite form or one single source document for the Harvard referencing style. This leads to a variety of formats so which one to use?
Help is at hand! Together with faculty of AHF we have designed the library guide Referencing@AHF. It offers guidelines and examples on how to do this in the proper way at our academy.
New library system, new options for you!
This summer the library catalogue has been upgraded and it offers some new options:
You can now reserve almost all materials in the library (on the shelf or on loan). Make a reservation (via 'place hold') and pick up your materials when you have received a pick up notice. Except reference materials.
The catalogue shows pictures of book covers. Very useful for making sure you are reserving the book you need.
You can now easily log in with your BUas credentials and extend the lending period of the library materials from home.
Looking for a specific type of material? Such as theses or placement reports? Use "advanced search" and select the material you are looking for. Enter keywords and start your search.
LIBRARY SUPPORT FOR NEW ACADEMIC YEAR '22-'23
Are you looking for ways to improve the study success of students in your blended learning course? Let the Library help you. We offer various tools and services to improve your students' information skills, one of the so-called 21st Century Skills, and therewith the quality of their products. Some of the options: