Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Library materials for the Academy for Hotel & Facility: January - February '22

This Library Guide presents a selection of additions to our Library collection for Hotel and Facility Management. This includes some of the latest acquisitions of (e-)books, links to the latest editions of key journals, and the latest developments in Library facilities, resources, and services.

You might also be interested in the latest acquisitions of Tourism, Leisure & Events and Built Environment.

 

HOW TO VIEW & DOWNLOAD E-BOOKS

You will find e-books via our Catalogue (add your specific search term, and select item type "Online resources" ) and also via Metasearch (limit your search results with Source Type: e-Books). You can use these 'How-to' guidelines to access and download e-books from our EBSCO e-books collection. For additional support, please contact your AHF librarian Maaike van Berlo or our Library Information Desk

EDUCATIONAL GAMES

The Library collection also offers educational card games. For your convenience they are placed together at the "Personal Development-section" (shelve number 159.946). We have games available in Dutch and in English. The following educational games are in English:

LATEST ACQUISITIONS ON INCLUSION & DIVERSITY

In collaboration with the LGBTQ+ Club, the Library has developed a small collection of novels. Handpicked by our own students. The collection includes titles such as: What if it's us, They both die at the end, Lore Olympus, Love Simon & Dragman.

LATEST ACQUISITIONS ON HOTEL DESIGN

QUESTIONS? ASK YOUR AHF LIBRARIAN

Would you like to have a publication included in the library collection? That is possible. For questions concerning the AHF library collection. Please contact me.                        

     

 

 

 

Maaike van Berlo              

Available on: Monday morning, Tuesday, Thursday morning and Friday.

  076-5332290   /    Send me your question   / Related image  Visit our website

DATABASES HOTEL & FACILITY

Beheer en Onderhoudkosten

Beheer- en Onderhoudskosten, Schoonmaakkosten.  Hier vindt u online software en (kosten)gegevens voor het maken van ramingen, begrotingen, calculaties en taxaties. Ook kunt u onwerkbare dagen opvragen.

BouwConnect Library

Dutch building information modelling (BIM) database, offering information on building materials, producers, and suppliers.

BouwkostenKompas

Dutch database for building costs calculations.

Business Source Ultimate

Database of journal articles on business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics + including company information (right column)

Ebsco e-book collection

Database contains all e-books provided by Ebsco. How to read/borrow e-books, please check the i-button (right)

Emerald

English database with partially full-text journal articles on management. Database where you can find articles published in management journals. 200+ journals have a full-text archive. If you'd like to see which journal you can read full-text, use the option 'Browse Books & journals' on the left at webpage of Emerald. Topics include marketing, human resources management, library and information management, and operations management.  Also includes case studies, expert briefings and open access materials.

Eurostat

Statistical Office of the European Communities

Evenementen Dashboard

Respons is a specialized research and consultancy company in the fields of Events, tourism and city marketing. Examples of our publications are the TOP100 Event Monitor, Top 50 Attractions Monitor, Festival Monitor and Trade & Public Fairs Monitor.

FactoMedia-base

Dutch database with full-text articles, step-by-step plans, checklists, and cases on facility management and purchasing. For full-text access, click ‘Nu inloggen’ (above right).

Financieele Dagblad Online

Voor het meest actuele bedrijfs- en financieel-economisch nieuws heb je onbeperkt toegang tot FD.nl.

FM Glossary

Welcome to FMpedia, a glossary of facility management terms. The IFMA FOUNDATION promotes and supports this for the advancement of facility management worldwide. The purpose of it is to provide a resource to the  facility management community, whereby users can look up meanings/definitions of words, add new words, and comment on existing definitions; or simply provide links to additional resources on FM-related subjects.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete

Hospitality & Tourism Complete is a trusted full-text database covering all areas of hospitality and tourism. In addition to full-text journals, it provides magazines, company and country reports, books and newspapers. Subject coverage includes: Culinary arts, Demographics and statistics, Development and investment, Food and beverage management, Hospitality law, Hotel management and administrative practice, Leisure and business travel, Market trends and Technology. 

Institute of Hospitality

English database with full-text e-articles, e-books, audiobooks and e-reports on hospitality, leisure, tourism, career development and business. Powered by the EBSCO database, the IoH Library contains titles from globally recognised publishers, all easily searchable and accessible. This is an exclusive resource for IoH Members only.

Leisure and tourism database (Cabi/LRTA)

Leisure Tourism Database indexes information on research and strategic development. It includes abstracts for journal articles, research papers, books and conferences from 1974 to the present. Coverage: Leisure & tourism policies, Tourism & leisure industries, Sport, travel & transport, Facility management & planning, Recreation activities, Urban regeneration, Ecotourism, natural resources & the environment, Hospitality industry & General leisure and recreation. 

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning is an online video database. It is available to all BUas students and staff and offers access to almost 4000 online videos on all kinds of topics.

The videos in this database can be used for group instructions or for personal self study purposes. And they can be a great addition to any form of E-learning within BUas.

Mintel Academic

The Mintel Academic online database for market research offers access to country and category-specific reports with quantitative and qualitative market, brand and consumer insights. These include current UK Travel Reports, China Travel Reports, and UK Leisure Reports. You will also find Country Reports, International Travel series, and the Travel and Tourism Analyst that are updated until January 1, 2020. These reports offer full-text information on travelling, countries, hotels, tourism, and hospitality.

NEN standardization / NEN Normen

Dutch database about standards. The interface is also in English

NRIT Kennisbank

Nederlandse databank met full-text artikelen over de toeristisch-recreatieve branche. Tevens archief van NRIT Actueel, NRIT Magazine, Recreatie en Toerisme en Vrijetijdstudies.

OECD iLibrary

The database OECD iLibrary offers full-text access to periodicals, statistics and books from the OECD on topics concerning countries all over the world.

Oxford English Dictionary

English-English dictionary

Sage Journals Online

Sage Journals Online offers full-text access to popular Journals in Communication Studies, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Psychology, Sociology, Urban Studies & Planning and other disciplines.

The database offers more than 500 journals. The full-text articles include the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. (Files are in PDF format)

Sciencedirect

ScienceDirect enables you to search one of the largest English databases in the world. The chief topic areas are natural sciences, architecture, biological sciences, medical science, social sciences and humanities. This database comprises some 2,000 scientific journals. Partially access to Elseviers journals & articles. Archive available as from 1995. BUas-students/employees have access to full-text articles in the Freedom collection of Science Direct.

Springer e-journals & e-books

Database for journals and e-books published by Springer. The Library has full-text access to most journals and to the English e-books as from 2016.

Some of the disciplines are: behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, computer science, earth and environmental science, humanities, social sciences, law, mathematics and medicine. Springer contains the publications of the publishers Springer and Kluwer academic.

Statista

Statista is a portal that provides access to statistics and studies on over 80,000 topics and areas of interest. Benefits of Statista include: Industry-specific economic macro data with key indicators of market trends Industry-specific surveys on relevant trends and forecasts Consumer behavior studies. Statista provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Statline-vrije tijd en cultuur thema

Browse door de tabellen (cijfermateriaal) van het CBS mbt vrije tijd, cultuur en toerisme. Allerlei selecties binnen de tabellen zijn mogelijk

UNWTO e-library

The e-unwto is a fully cross-searchable interactive database offering a vast number of high-quality UNWTO publications including books, journals, and statistics in their respective languages. In addition to more than 1100 books, it also provides access to documents which can be defined as “Gray Literature”. The latest statistical information and aggregated data on inbound and outbound tourism are very conveniently presented within the “Tourism statistics” section.

Warc (World Advertising Research Center)

Warc.com is an online service offering advertising best practices, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. Warc also publishes leading journals including Admap, Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research and the International Journal of Market Research. Warc features advertising case studies and best practices from more than 50 respected industry sources, including: The Advertising Research Foundation, Cannes Lions, Effie Worldwide, Association of National Advertisers, ESOMAR, 4A's, The IPA and DMA.

Van Dale dictionaries

Dutch, English-Dutch v.v, German-Dutch v.v, French-Dutch v.v, Italian-Dutch v.v, Spanish-Dutch v.v, Portuguese-Dutch

Wiley Online Library

English database with access to journal articles of Wiley publishers on a lot of topics.

LIBRARY TIDBITS

 

BUas Copyright Information Point

Do you want to use publications by others like articles, book chapters, pictures, and recordings as teaching materials in Teams or CumLaude? Wondering how to act ethically when they are subject to copyright protection? Do you want to know who owns the copyrights of materials that you have created within the framework of your job or during work hours? Or are you curious what your position is when discussing copyrights of your (open access) publication or product with publishers?

BUas Copyright Information Point (CIP) is there to inform you! It offers information and advice on copyright issues to students and employees of BUas. Check out the information on the Library homepage or contact the CIP directly: cip@buas.nl.

Displays at the Library

In our Library we highlight certain topics by making a display. We collect online & offline resources in our collection about a topic.  At the moment we have displays available on:

  • Food waste
  • Diversion & Inclusion 
  • Gender
  • SDG

 

Information Skills Support

At Information Skills Support on our homepage, you will find many practical e-tools that you might advise to your students, use yourself or integrate into your blended curriculum. These include the Information Skills Toolboxlibrary guidesvideo clips, and infographics. Or you might decide to request a one-on-one meeting with a librarian or subscribe to one of the webinars that we offer monthly to students, faculty, and staff. So visit our homepage and help yourself and your students to become 'information skilled' professionals

 

PURE: knowledge output of BUas employees

Are you curious about publications, presentations, or consultancy work by our colleagues at AHF or BUas-wide? An up-to-date overview of all knowledge output of our employees can be found in the PURE web portal. For additional information on registration and submission of your own knowledge output please consult the Library's PURE page 

For questions and support please contact the Library's PURE team: pure@buas.nl.

Workshop on Harvard referencing

True, referencing is not rocket science. But how easy do you make a mistake because you overlook a missing dot or bracket, get confused by deviant examples, or overlook mistakes by your reference manager program. In addition, unlike APA, there is no definite form or one single source document for the Harvard referencing style. This leads to a variety of formats so which one to use?  Help is at hand! Together with faculty of AHF we have designed the library guide Referencing@AHF. It offers guidelines and examples on how to do this in the proper way at our academy. It is now possible to follow workshops from the Library on Harvard: Workshops.

LATEST ARTICLES IN FM JOURNALS

For additional information on the international facility market, you can visit the International Facility Management Association or more specifically its European section. More information on the Dutch facility market including reports, whitepapers, and videos, you will find at F-Facts of F-Academy.nl.

LATEST ARTICLES IN HM JOURNALS

Interested in the latest information in a selection of HM and FM related journals and magazines in our Library collection? Please check out the AHF journal shortlist on our Library homepage.