Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Library materials for the Academy for Hotel & Facility: January - February '21

ABOUT THIS LIBGUIDE

This Library Guide presents a selection of additions to our Library collection for Hotel and Facility Management. This includes some of the latest acquisitions of (e-)books, links to the latest editions of key journals, and the latest developments in Library facilities, resources, and services.

You might also be interested in the latest acquisitions of Tourism, Leisure & Events and Built Environment

Share with us your appreciation for this libguide and your suggestions for improvement and new acquisitions via this short survey For more information please contact your AHF information specialist Maaike van Berlo.

SOME OF OUR LATEST ACQUISITIONS

HOW TO VIEW & DOWNLOAD E-BOOKS

You will find e-books via our Catalogue (add your specific search term, and select item type "Online resources" ) and also via Metasearch (limit your search results with Source Type: e-Books). You can use these 'How-to' guidelines to access and download e-books from our EBSCO e-books collection. For additional support, please contact your AHF librarian Maaike van Berlo or our Library Information Desk

LATEST ARTICLES IN FM JOURNALS

For additional information on the international facility market, you can visit the International Facility Management Association or more specifically its European section. More information on the Dutch facility market including reports, whitepapers, and videos, you will find at F-Facts of F-Academy.nl.

LATEST ARTICLES IN HM JOURNALS

Interested in the latest information in a selection of HM and FM related journals and magazines in our Library collection? Please check out the AHF journal shortlist on our Library homepage.

LIBRARY TIDBITS

 

Accessibility Library during lockdown

Yes, also during lockdown your Library is still alive & kicking, attuned to the BUas COVID-19 protocol! Please check out our latest Library news, including the accessibility of our facilities and collection, and our (online) services and tools specifically designed for a blended learning environment.

 

 

Information Skills Support

At Information Skills Support on our homepage, you will find many practical e-tools that you might advise your students, use yourself or integrate into your blended curriculum. These include the Information Skills Toolboxlibrary guidesvideo clips, and infographics. Or you might decide to request a one-on-one meeting with a librarian or subscribe to one of the webinars that we offer monthly to students, faculty, and staff. So visit our homepage and help yourself and your students to become 'information skilled' professionals

 

PURE: knowledge output of BUas employees

Are you curious about publications, presentations, or consultancy work by our colleagues at AHF or BUas-wide? An up-to-date overview of all knowledge output of our employees can be found in the PURE web portal. For additional information on registration and submission of your own knowledge output please consult the Library's PURE page 

For questions and support please contact the Library's PURE team: pure@buas.nl.

World Advertising Research Center (WARC)

The World Advertising Research Center (WARC) provides articles on advertising, marketing, brands and campaigns. It includes case studies, marketing intelligence, best practice guides, consumer insights, industry trends, news, data and forecasts, trends in TV viewing, newspapers and other media, economic and demographic data, profiles of major brands and more.

Journals in WARC include: Admap, Market Leader, International Journal of Advertising, Journal of Advertising Research, and International Journal of Market Research.

 

LinkedIn Learning video database

We offer access to Linkedin Learning, an online video database with over 16,000 online expert-led courses on a wide variety of topics, available both for free and with a subscription. The videos can be used for group instructions or for personal self-study purposes. And they can be a great addition to your blended learning curriculum. For more information on the use of LinkedIn Learning please check out this manual.

NEXIS UNI: newspaper & company info database

Lexis Uni is a multilingual database with online full-text archives of news publications from all over the world. These include national and regional Dutch newspapers and major international news publications that can be downloaded, printed or sent by email. 

Lexis Uni Company Dossier offers, amongst others, information on a multitude of Dutch and international companies, US industries, and business executives. It contains reports about brands, financial data, SWOT analyses, company activities and more. These concise tutorials will start you in the right direction.

 

BUas Copyright Information Point

Do you want to use publications by others like articles, book chapters, pictures, and recordings as teaching materials in Teams or CumLaude? Wondering how to act ethically when they are subject to copyright protection? Do you want to know who owns the copyrights of materials that you have created within the framework of your job or during work hours? Or are you curious what your position is when discussing copyrights of your (open access) publication or product with publishers?

BUas Copyright Information Point (CIP) is there to inform you! It offers information and advice on copyright issues to students and employees of BUas. Check out the information on the Library homepage or contact the CIP directly: cip@buas.nl.

Referencing at AHF

True, referencing is not rocket science. But how easy do you make a mistake because you overlook a missing dot or bracket, get confused by deviant examples, or overlook mistakes by your reference manager program. In addition, unlike APA, there is no definite form or one single source document for the Harvard referencing style. This leads to a variety of formats so which one to use?

Help is at hand! Together with faculty of AHF we have designed the library guide Referencing@AHF. It offers guidelines and examples on how to do this in the proper way at our academy.

QUESTIONS? ASK YOUR AHF LIBRARIAN

                                          

        

 Maaike van Berlo

 Available on Tuesday, Thursday and Friday.     

   076-5332290

Related image  Visit our Library website