New Library materials for Tourism, Leisure & Events: March 2022

If you experience problems reading / downloading Ebsco e-books check here for information.

When this doesn't answer your question come to our information desk or mail us.

Data-Analytics for Students

Description: Analytics is such a broad topic that it's hard to know where to get started. In this course designed for students, explore how to use data analytics to make informed decisions, and build core analytics skills that can prepare you to enter into the business or data science landscape. Learn about the basics of analytics, how data is typically captured, and how it impacts the day-to-day of a business. This course also provides an introduction to common tools used in analytics, as well as stories designed to help students get an overview of careers that require strong analytical skills.

Applied Machine Learning: Ensemble Learning

Do you want to grow your skills as a machine learning practitioner, but don’t know where to begin? You don’t need any formal training in data science to start working toward your goal. In this course, instructor Derek Jedamski shows you how to harness messy data, find signal in it, and build models that make powerful predictions with ensemble learners, one of the most common classes of machine learning algorithms.
Review the basics of the machine learning pipeline to find out where ensemble learners sit within it. Learn about the underlying theory that drives ensemble learners, covering examples of ensemble learning in Python and then implementing models of your own. Explore concepts like boosting, bagging, and stacking, and how to use each and when. Get the tools you need to ramp up your predicting power and advance your machine learning skills today.

Miss Excel’s Top Productivity Hacks: Let's get productive: Excel

Want to become an Excel power user? Follow along with Excel MVP Kat Norton, a.k.a. Miss Excel, as she introduces you to her favorite productivity hacks for cleaning, analyzing, and formatting data in Excel. These tips and tricks can save you hours each week and help you do more with your data. Kat covers the hottest topics in Excel including the new XLOOKUP function, dropdown menus, Flash Fill, and more

Brand Strategy: Management of Your Brand Reputation

A positive brand reputation increases customer loyalty, builds trust in the market, and helps position you as a leader in your space. In this course, learn tips from brand expert and marketing thought leader Chelsea Krost on how to build and protect a strong brand reputation. Chelsea shows you how to hone your brand strategy with practical guidance in critical areas, including: Corporate social responsibility, diversity and inclusion; leveraging the right influencers in the right ways; and managing negative reviews and brand feedback. She also covers the importance of monitoring your brand reputation through internal brand audits, and details some tools to help you manage your online reputation.

Possibly you have to login to get access. Login with your BUas email address and then continue for Single sign- on

Or go directly to LinkedIn Learning and look up the course:

LinkedIn learning is an online video database. It is available to all  BUas students and staff and offers access to almost 4000 online videos on all kinds of topics. The videos in this database can be used for group instructions or for personal self study purposes. And they can be a great addition to any form of E-learning within BUas. Fore more information on the use of LinkedIn Learning (only for BUas staff & students), use the manual.

Online Library webinars Information Skills

Could your students use a helping hand with finding the proper information for their assignment, thesis, or research? The Library organizes monthly online webinars where students will learn how to come up with an adequate (re)search question, use effective search words, select and use the resources of the Library, and correctly use citations and references. Students can subscribe to the following online webinars:

• Advanced Information Skills
• Search smarter with Google & Google Scholar
• Exploring Library Databases
• Citing & Referencing Sources Using APA, 7th edition
• Managing Your References with Endnote

Check our webinar overview for dates and times. For further questions, you can always contact us

INFORMATION LITERACY TOOLBOX

Information literacy is the set of abilities requiring individuals to “recognize when information is needed and have the ability to locate, evaluate and use effectively the needed information.” (Association of College & Research Libraries, 2000). 

The Information Literacy Toolbox of the Library offers a variety of e-tools to teach students information skills. Both lecturers and librarians can integrate these e-learning tools in their education according the 'right time, right content' principle. The toolbox can however also be used independently.

The toolbox is based on a 6-step model. Each step of the information literary process is described and contains tools, such as knowledge clips, that can be used in education / learning communities. All tools focus on developing information skills, including:

•  formulating search questions
•  defining the right search terms
•  selecting relevant resources
•  using the proper search methods
•  assessing / evaluating information
•  using & presenting information correctly

For questions regarding the use of the Toolbox please contact the Information Desk of the Library: Contact us 

More information on (copyright issues) concerning using books and e-books on LMS and Teams

For browsing through journals and the latest issues of journals:

For an overview of all journals the library has access to / subscription to:

For searching for articles use on a topic:

Databases NOT indexed/searched by Metasearch:

Overview of all library databases

Library BUas:website 

Information specialist Tourism, Leisure & Events: Anja van Hoof : hoof.j@buas.nl